March 31, 2023

The Honorable Hal Rogers Chair Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies

Committee on Appropriations
U.S. House of Representatives

H-310 The Capitol

Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Matt Cartwright

Ranking Member

Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice,

Science, and Related Agencies Committee on Appropriations U.S. House of Representatives

H-310 The Capitol

Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairman Rogers and Ranking Member Cartwright:

We write to respectfully request that you support robust funding of \$11.3 billion, matching the President's budget request, for the National Science Foundation (NSF) in the Fiscal Year (FY) 2024 Commerce, Justice, Science, and Related Agencies Appropriations bill.

The nation faces urgent competitiveness challenges, and NSF funding is critical to ensuring our innovation ecosystem is prepared to lead the world in the emerging technologies that are key to economic security and our national defense. The passage of the bipartisan CHIPS and Science Act demonstrated NSF's central role in advancing American innovation.

The CHIPS and Science direct NSF to expand its mission towards transforming innovation ecosystems with the new Technology, Innovation, and Partnerships (TIP) Directorate; address growing workforce gaps in emerging technology areas by expanding its efforts in STEM education and broadening participation programs; and address many priorities in foundational research programs that power America's science and innovation enterprise.

NSF cannot realize this Congressional vision without adequate funding. CHIPS provided NSF with semiconductor funding, but NSF needs additional resources to fully achieve the goals laid out in the legislation.

For these reasons, we encourage you to robustly fund the National Science Foundation, in line with the President's budget request, in FY2024. We must ensure our nation remains at the forefront of scientific and technological innovation across all fields of research.

Sincerely,

øe Ne<mark>g</mark>use

Member of Congress

Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Serrold Nadler

Member of Congress

Alma S. Adams, Ph.D.

Member of Congress

Colin Z. Allred

Member of Congress

Take Auchincloss

Member of Congress

Andy Barr

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Nancte Diaz Barragan

Joyce Beatty

Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr.

Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer

Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress Ami Bera, M.D.

Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr.

Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester

Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Ken Buck

Member of Congress

Her Buck

Nikki Budzinski

Member of Congress

Cori Bush

Member of Congress

Yadira Carayeo M.D.

Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal

Member of Congress

10.Cll

André Carson

André Carson

Earl I bully Carte

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress Troy Carter

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Judy Chu

Member of Congress

David N. Cicilline

Member of Congress

Jul N. Cullie

Vvette D. Clarke

Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II

Member of Congress

Steve Cohen

Member of Congress

en Cohen

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

**J**ason Crow

Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids

Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis

Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis

Madeleine Dean
Member of Congress

Diana DeGette

Member of Congress

Paus Dollate

Suzan K. DelBene Member of Congress Mark DeSaulnier
Member of Congress

Veronica Escobar Member of Congress

Winica Erroban

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress Bill Foster Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Ruben Gallego

Member of Congress

John Garamendi

Member of Congress

Maramenti.

Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Dan Goldman

Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez

Member of Congress

Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress Josh Gottheimer

Al Green

Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

phana Hayes

Brian Higgins

Member of Congress

Vames A. Himes

Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan

Member of Congress

Mussy Houkhan

Val Hoyle

Member of Congress

Jared Huffman

Member of Congress

leff Jackson

.onathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal

Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

William R. Keating Member of Congress Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Andy Kim

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster
Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Rick Zansen

John B. Larson

Member of Congress

Mike Levin

Member of Congress

Wike Ten

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Lucy McBath

Stephen F. Lynch

Member of Congress

Lucy McBath

Jennifer L. McClellan Member of Congress Morgan McGarvey Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress Robert J. Menendez Member of Congress

halut Menuly

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

Donald Norcross

Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar

Member of Congress

Jimmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr.

Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Gleano H. Norton

Frank Pallone, Jr.

Member of Congress

Chris Pappas

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters

Brittany Pettersen Member of Congress Chellie Pingree
Member of Congress

Chell R

Stacey E. Plaskett
Member of Congress

Yamie Raskin
Member of Congress

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress Andrea Salinas
Member of Congress

96hn P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Hillary J. Scholten
Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D.

Member of Congress

David Scott

Member of Congress

Robert C. "Bobby" Scott Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell
Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill

Member of Congress

Adam Smith

Abigail Davis Spanberger
Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

Eric Swalwell Member of Congress Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

MARK TAKANO Member of Congress

Mark Jakan

Glenn "GT" Thompson
Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib

Member of Congress

Paul D. Tonko

Member of Congress

Lori Trahan

Member of Congress

Juan Vargas

Member of Congress

Marc A. Veasev

Member of Congress

Susan Wild

Member of Congress

Nikema Williams